man playing soccer game on field

Portuguese Soccer Vocabulary – Learn useful expressions!

Portuguese Soccer Vocabulary and Expressions:

The Brazilian people love soccer, so if you are visiting, why not attend a game and learn some useful soccer expressions!

No matter what team you root for these expressions will help you at the stadium:

Watch our video lesson below:

Portuguese Soccer Vocabulary:

– Que horas é o jogo? (How to say: What time is the game?)

– Quanto custa? (How to say: How much does it cost?)

– Como está o jogo? (How to say: How is the game?)

– Quem marcou o gol? (How to say: Who scored the goal?)

– …está ganhado! ( How to say: ….is winning!)

Basic Soccer Vocab in Portuguese:

– Futebol = How to say: Football

-Time = How to say: Team

-Torcida = How to say: organized cheering squad

– Estádio = How to say: Stadium

– Jogadores = How to say: Players

– Golaço/Gol = Goal

More info about the workd cup in Brazil:

The 2014 FIFA World Cup will be the 20th FIFA World Cup, an international men’s football tournament that is scheduled to take place in Brazil from 12 June to 13 July 2014.[1] It will be the second time that Brazil has hosted the competition, the previous being in 1950. Brazil was elected unchallenged as host nation in 2007 after the international football federation, FIFA, decreed that the tournament would be staged in South America for the first time since 1978 in Argentina, and the fifth time overall.

The national teams of 31 countries advanced through qualification competitions that began in June 2011 to participate with the host nation Brazil in the final tournament. A total of 64 matches are to be played in twelve cities across Brazil in either new or redeveloped stadiums, with the tournament beginning with a group stage. For the first time at a World Cup Finals, the matches will use goal-line technology.

With the host country, all world champion teams since the first World Cup in 1930 (Uruguay, Italy, Germany, England, Argentina, France and Spain) have qualified for this competition. Spain is the defending champion, having defeated the Netherlands 1–0 in the 2010 World Cup final to win its first World title. The previous four World Cups staged in South America were all won by South American teams.




Share this post